It Feels So Good!

May 2, 2010

Oh baby! I’m in LOVE! Yes, oh, yes, I am. With….. Contra Dancing!! Mmmhhmmm.

Contra dance (also contradance, contra-dance and other variant spellings) refers to several partnered folk dance styles in which couples dance in two facing lines of indefinite length. Sometimes described as New England folk dance, contra dances can be found around the world, though they are especially popular in North America.

Lori, Jake and I went to Blue Hill for my first dancing experience and boy oh boy it did not disappoint. I cannot even begin to tell you when the last time I smiled that much was! Pure enjoyment! It felt so good to touch and to be touched by so many different people (especially since I have been “stranded” on a farm for two months). Some partners would hold me tight and stare me straight in the eye and never look away, while others would be soft and smile and lower their gaze. It was fantastic! I am completely worn out today so I am guessing a hiking trip to Acadia National Park isn’t the best prescription for my aching body. Thank goodness Sunday means sauna (another activity that I hold close to my heart!) and the relaxation that comes along with it. 200 degrees of pure muscle loosening power. I wish it were 5pm right now!!

The farm I work on lies about a five-minute walk from the ocean so, as you can guess, there are some pretty fancy (and expensive) homes around this part of the peninsula. What seriously irks me is that the houses are only inhabited for a small portion of the year and lay dormant more than they are occupied. It boggles my mind how some people have not a single home yet others have more than one…. and ones they don’t even use! *GROANS* There needs to be an organization that fills these empty houses with those needing a place to stay! Anywho….. On Friday it was pleasantly sunny and warm out so I wanted to get the gang together after work for some hanging, some cooking, some laughs. So we grab some beer and walk down to the lane with all the million dollar houses and we pick a driveway and then proceed to hang out on the porch of a 1.3 million dollar house that isn’t being used to it’s greatest potential. We take in an amazing sunset with cold beer in our hands, snack on apricots and peanut butter, snap some photos and leave without a trace. Chad cooked an amazing dinner and we had s’mores by the campfire. I had a s’more, Jake had four. Woah. I took a few nighttime shots with long exposure before my battery died. I’m excited to shoot more at night or maybe at dusk…. i’m just excited to shoot more in general. Yup, life is beautiful.

 

 

Leave a comment